As the US Open doubles open, Smith faces an awkward new world of golf

Cameron Smith joins the US Open group as LIV Golf’s stars face a last-ditch encounter with the PGA Tour at Los Angeles Country Club.

Smith will line up on the first tee alongside defending champion Matt Fitzpatrick and popular young player Sam Bennett, who turned pro after a stunning display at the Masters.

He does so after LIV Golf’s financial backers, the Saudi Arabian Public Investment Fund (PIF), agreed to join forces with the PGA Tour to end golf’s civil war.

Watch every round of the US Open LIVE & Exclusive on Fox Sports available on Kayo. New to Cayo? Start your free trial now >

PGA Loyalists Processing Merger 01:19

This leaves the future of LIV Golfers, which includes Smith, up in the air with no certainty that they will continue beyond 2023.

The deal between the PGA Tour and the PIF includes an agreement to open a “fair” process for defectors to rejoin, though at what cost is unclear.

Smith and the rest of the LIV golfers will have to put that noise to the background as they compete in the third and final major of the year on U.S. soil.

And this will be the hardest. Los Angeles Country Club is shaping up to be a tough challenge with tough rough and long holes, including two par-3s of nearly 300 yards.

Smith will tee off with Fitzpatrick and Bennett at 9.32am on Friday and the 10th tee at 4.02am (AEST) on Saturday.

Meanwhile, Jason Day will be paired with Justin Rose and Rickie Fowler at 4.02am on Friday and 9.32am on Saturday.

Adam Scott stars with Gary Woodland and Corey Conners.

Elsewhere, PGA Championship winner and LIV golf star Brooks Koepka is paired with PGA Tour pin-up boy Rory McIlroy in a blockbuster.

Check out all the times below!

Rory Releases PGA Merger With Liv | 01:05


— Aussies in bold, * represents the 10th hole

2:45/8:15.* – Omar Morales (a), Deon Hermishuys, Jacob Solomon

2:45*/8:15. – Berry Henson, Ryutaro Nagano, Hank Lebioda

2:56/8:26.* – Ryan Gerrard, Yuto Katsuragawa, Michael Brennan (a)

2:56*/8:26. – Michael Kim, Jordan Smith, Weni Ding (a)

3:07/8:37.* – Hayden Buckley, Adam Svensson, Pablo Larrazabal

3:07*/8:37. – Scott Stallings, Preston Summerhayes (a), Lucas Herbert

3:18/8:48.* – Carson Young, Dylan Wu, Roger Sloan

3:18*/8:48. – Jens Dunthorpe, Patrick Rogers, Ryan Armour

3:29/8:59.* – Ryo Ishikawa, Kevin Streelman, Matthew Pavon

3:29*/8:59 – Thomas Peters, Aaron Wise, Gordon Sargent (a)

3:40/9:10.* – Shane Lowry, Justin Thomas, Tommy Fleetwood

3:40*/9:10. – Bryson DeChambeau, Francesco Molinari, Tyrrell Hutton

3:51/9:21.* – Songjae Im, KH Lee, JT. Poston

3:51*/9:21. – Tom Hoge, Sergio Garcia, Sepp Straka

4:02/9:32* – Gary Woodland, Adam ScottCorey Conners

4:02*/9:32 – Justin Rose, Rickie Fowler, Jason Day

4:13/9:43* – Collin Morikawa, Max Homa, Scotty Scheffler

4:13*/9:43 – Patrick Reed, Matt Kuchar, Si Woo Kim

4:24/9:54* – Denny McCarthy, Joel Dahmen, Adam Hadwin

4:24*/9:54 – Xander Schauffele, Victor Hovland, John Rahm

4:35/10:05.* – Matthew McClean (a), Seamus Power, Ryan Fox

4:35*/10:05. – Martin Kaymer, Stuart Sink, Michael Thorbjornsen (a)

4:46/10:16.* – Mac Meissner, Barclay Brown (a), Gunn Charoenkul

4:46*/10:16. – David Horsey, Brendan Valdez (a), Paul Barjon

4:57/10:27.* – Alexander Young (a), Jesse Schutte, Andy Svoboda

4:57*/10:27. – Jordan Gumberg, Kyle Muller, Bastien Amat (a)

8:15/2:45.* – Brent Grant, Vincent Norrmann, Charlie Hoffman

8:15*/2:45. – Ross Fisher, Nico Echavarria, Paul Haley II

8:26/2:56.* – Simon Forsstrom, Carlos Ortiz, Maxwell Moldova (a)

8:26*/2:56. – Nick Dunlap (a), Nick Hardy, Sam Stevens

8:37/3:07.* – Eric Cole, Triston Lawrence, Adam Schenk

8:37*/3:07. – Taylor Pendrith, Aldrich Potgieter (a), Romain Langask

8:48/3:18.* – Luke List, Wilco Nienaber, Alejandro Del Rey

8:48*/3:18. – Andrew Putnam, Victor Perez, Abraham Unser

8:59/3:29.* -. Adrian Meronc, Harris English, Joaquin Nieman

8:59*/3:29. – Phil Mickelson, Padraig Harrington, Keegan Bradley

9:10/3:40.* – Alex Noren, Wyndham Clark, Austin Eckroat

9:10*/3:40. – Mito Pereira, Emiliano Grillo, Mateo Fernandez de Oliveira (a)

9:21/3:51.* – Kurt Kitayama, Cam DavisRussell Henley

9:21*/3:51. – Tom Kim, Sahit Tegala, Cameron Young

9:32/4:02.* – Cameron SmithSam Bennett, Matt Fitzpatrick

9:32*/4:02. – Sam Burns, Dustin Johnson, Keith Mitchell

9:43/4:13.* – Billy Horschel, Chris Kirk, Brian Harman

9:43*/4:13. – Tony Finau, Jordan Spieth, Patrick Cantlay

9:54/4:24.* – Brooks Koepka, Hideki Matsuyama, Rory McIlroy

9:54*/4:24. – Davis Thompson, Min Woo LeeJustin Suh

10:05/4:35* – Sebastian Munoz, Nick Taylor, Taylor Montgomery

10:05*/4:35. – Taylor Moore, Mackenzie Hughes, Ben Carr (a)

10:16/4:46. – Olin Brown Jr., David Puig, Carl Phillips (a)

10:16*/4:46. – Patrick Cover, David Naifjall (a), Frankie Kapan III

10:27/4:57.* – Corey Pereira, Isaac Simmons (a), JJ Gray

10:27*/4:57. – Austin Truslow, Christian Cavalier (a), Alex Schaak

#Open #doubles #open #Smith #faces #awkward #world #golf

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *