Toby Price wins ninth Finke Desert Race crown – Speedcafe

Toby Price won his ninth race in the Finke Desert

Toby Price won his ninth race in the Finke Desert

Toby Price won his third straight win in the Cars division of Australia’s blue ribbon off-road race and his ninth victory in the Tatts Finke Desert Race.

The four-wheeled field continues back to Alice Springs on the 226km course, with Price and co-driver Jason Duncan clocking 1:43:11.239s for Leg 2, for a total race time of 3:21:46.628s in the #487 Trophy Truck.

At this stage, Greg Gartner is second and classified in the Extreme 2WD class, with their positions unlikely to change, while Travis Robinson is third and first in Pro Buggy.

In Saturday’s Prologue at Alice Springs, Price qualified to lead the field to Aputula (Finke) by 2.257 seconds over Beau Robinson (Extreme 2WD).

He clocked a time of 1:38:35.389 seconds, putting three and a half minutes on the field after the first half of the race was completed correctly, with Travis Robinson his closest challenger at the overnight stop.

Margins were better on the way back, with Price and Gartner setting a torrid pace.

In fact, the former shaved just four-tenths of a second off the record event time he set 364 days earlier.

β€œIt’s a dream come true to win for the first time and then say I have nine 1686544579 wild,” said Price, whose other six King of the Desert titles have come on KTM motorcycles.

“We ran really well, the truck did a great job, my crew did a great job – I wouldn’t be here without them.”

Gartner was 56.232 seconds slower in the rematch, with a total time of 3:27:48.880 seconds, which moved him from fourth to second in the Finke 2023 finish.

Travis Robinson’s podium meant he extended his lead in the Polaris Motorsport Australia Offroad Championship, while Brent Martin missed out on the top three by less than 11 seconds but won the Prolite Buggy class.

Beau Robinson (Extreme 2WD) rounded out the top five after making up four positions after a crash en route to Aputula, with Shannon Rentch (Pro Buggy), Mark Burroughs (Pro Buggy), Phil Lovett rounding out the top ten. (Extreme 4WD), Michael Dolan (Extreme 2WD) and Kent Battle (Pro Buggy).

The first bike should arrive in Alice Springs around 13:45/14:15 AEST local time.

Round 4 of the Motorsport Australian Off-Road Championship is the Loveday 400 from July 28-30.

Add on

CLICK HERE for live stream

Results: 2023 Finke Desert Race Top 10

Post office No Driver Class 1 time a day 2 times a day Time
1 487 Toby Price 04 – EXTREME 2WD 01:38:35.389 01:43:11.239 03:21:46.628
2 410 Greg Gartner 04 – EXTREME 2WD 01:43:41.409 01:44:07.471 03:27:48.880
3 13 Travis Robinson 00 – PRO BUGGY 01:42:19.723 01:51:54.891 03:34:14.614
4 120 Brent Martin 01 – PROLITE BUGGY 01:46:49.121 01:47:36.156 03:34:25.277
5 413 Bo Robinson 04 – EXTREME 2WD 01:50:17.661 01:44:35.873 03:34:53.534
6 33 Shannon Rentsch 00 – PRO BUGGY 01:43:24.479 01:52:33.094 03:35:57.573
7 21 Mark Burroughs 00 – PRO BUGGY 01:48:31.840 01:48:00.663 03:36:32.503
8 897 Phil Lovett 08 – EXTREME 4WD 01:50:41.040 01:50:24.388 03:41:05.428
9 455 Michael Dolan 04 – EXTREME 2WD 01:52:04.861 01:50:38.819 03:42:43.680
10 31 Battle of Kent 00 – PRO BUGGY 01:51:56.987 01:51:48.659 03:43:45.646

#Toby #Price #wins #ninth #Finke #Desert #Race #crown #Speedcafe

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *